URGENT: As leaders meet TODAY to discuss OTB – Tell Leo Varadkar & Fine Gael it’s time to support the Bill!

Always be respectful , no matter your personal opinion of the parties or individual politicians – an aggressive tone will immediately turn people off. Be as brief as you can, shorter messages are more likely to be read in full. Note that you agree with Simon Coveney that both Israeli settlements and Israel’s plan to annex yet more Palestinian land are illegal and that something must be done. Say that you are aware that Fine Gael’s opposition to the Bill hinges on the unpublished advice of the Attorney General, but note that this advice is not cast iron – other legal opinions from eminent jurists such as Michael Lynn SC, James Crawford SC, Prof. Takis Tridimas, and former AG Michael McDowell all argue that the Bill violates no EU laws. Note that the advice of the Attorney General is just that, advice , and that in past the views of AGs have been disregarded by their successors. For example, in the 1980s when AG Peter Sutherland argued that a ban on goods from Apartheid South Africa would contravene EEC law, his successor AG John Rogers argued the opposite, and Ireland became the first EEC country to introduce such a ban . We have a chance to pass this equally historic legislation in support of oppressed peoples. If Fine Gael wish to address legal concerns with the Bill, at the very least they can commit to reintroducing it for further debate in Committee Stage where the key EU legal issues can be answered. Note that this legislation is required to bring Ireland into compliance with its of non-recognition of and non-assistance to serious breaches of international law, and that the Bill is supported by current UN Special Rapporteur for the Human Rights in Palestine Michael Lynk, and former Special Rapporteurs John Dugard and Richard Falk. Highlight that the vast majority of voters cast their ballots for parties that vocally support the Occupied Territories Bill and that any government of change must listen to these people and act on that wide cross-party support. Note that we cannot abandon the Palestinian people especially now with Israel’s plan to illegally annex yet more Palestinian land, that action is needed, and Palestinians are calling for this legislation to be passed. What Covid19 has made clear is that we live in hugely interconnected world and even small decisions and actions taken (or not taken), thousands of miles away can have huge effects on behaviour patterns and modes of operatio n. By passing the Occupied Territories Bill, Ireland has a chance to make a hugely positive contribution to the rule of international law – in Palestine and beyond. We ask you to please take a few minutes to make this important contact with Leo Varadkar, Simon Coveney and your local Fine Gael TDs and Senators to let them know that even in the midst of global tragedy and uncertainty and fear here at home, you have not forgotten about the people of Palestine – and neither should they! Find you local TD and/or Senator here CONSTITUENCY NAME TD or SEN EMAIL Carlow-Kilkenny John Paul Phelan TD johnpaul.phelan@oir.ie Cavan–Monaghan Heather Humphries TD heather.humphries@oir.ie Cavan–Monaghan Joe O'Reilly SEN joe.oreilly@oir.ie Clare Joe Carey TD joe.carey@oir.ie Clare Martin Conway SEN martin.conway@oir.ie Cork East David Stanton TD david.stanton@oir.ie Cork North Central Colm Burke TD colm.burke@oir.ie Cork North-West Michael Creed TD michael.creed@oir.ie Cork South Central Simon Coveney TD simon.coveney@oir.ie Cork South Central Jerry Buttimer SEN jerry.buttimer@oir.ie Cork South West Tim Lombard SEN tim.lombard@oir.ie Donegal Joe McHugh TD joe.mchugh@oir.ie Dublin Bay North Richard Bruton TD richard.bruton@oir.ie Dublin Bay South Eoghan Murphy TD eoghan.murphy@oir.ie Dublin Central Paschal Donohoe TD paschal.donohoe@oir.ie Dublin Fingal Alan Farrell TD alan.farrell@oir.ie Dublin Mid West Emer Higgins TD emer.higgins@oir.ie Dublin Rathdown Josepha Madigan TD josepha.madigan@oir.ie Dublin Rathdown Neale Richmond TD neale.richmond@oir.ie Dublin South West Colm Brophy TD colm.brophy@oir.ie Dublin West Leo Varadkar TD leo.varadkar@oir.ie Dún Laoghaire Jennifer Carroll McNeill TD jennifer.carrollmacneill@oir.ie Dún Laoghaire Barry Ward SEN barry.ward@oir.ie Galway East Ciarán Cannon TD ciaran.cannon@oir.ie Galway West Hildegarde Naughton TD hildegarde.naughton@oir.ie Galway West Seán Kyne SEN sean.kyne@oir.ie Kerry Brendan Griffin TD brendan.griffin@oir.ie Kildare North Bernard Durkan TD bernard.durkan@oir.ie Kildare South Martin Heydon TD martin.heydon@oir.ie Laois-Offaly Charles Flanagan TD charles.flanagan@oir.ie Limerick City Kieran O’Donnell TD kieran.odonnell@oir.ie Limerick County Patrick O’Donovan TD patrick.odonovan@oir.ie Longford-Westmeath Peter Burke TD peter.burke@oir.ie Longford-Westmeath Micheál Carrigy SEN micheal.carrigy@oir.ie Louth Fergus O'Dowd TD fergus.odowd@oir.ie Louth John McGahon SEN john.mcgahon@oir.ie Mayo Michael Ring TD michael.ring@oir.ie Mayo Alan Dillon TD alan.dillon@oir.ie Mayo Paddy Burke SEN paddy.burke@oir.ie Meath East Helen McEntee TD helen.mcentee@oir.ie Meath West Damien English TD Damien.english@oir.ie Sligo-Leitrim Frank Feighan TD frank.feighan@oir.ie Tipperary Garret Ahearn SEN garret.ahearn@oir.ie Waterford John Cummins SEN john.cummins@oir.ie Wexford Paul Kehoe TD paul.kehoe@oir.ie Wexford Michael D'Arcy SEN michael.darcy@oir.ie Wicklow Simon Harris TD simon.harris@oir.ie

2020-05-29 | Action Item, Apartheid, Campaigns | English |